UK Roofing Awards 2016 – Winners revealed

The winners of the UK Roofing Awards were announced at a ceremony hosted by BBC’s Steph McGovern at the Hilton London Metropole on Friday 13th May 2016.

The winners are:

  • Fully Supported Metal Roofing – ltd, The Pod, Cockfield
  • Vertical Cladding/ Rainscreen – Met-Clad Contracts Limited, Friars Walk Development, Newport
  • Roof Sheeting – KGM Roofing, Marshgate Drive, Hertford
  • Shingles & Shakes – John Brash & Co. Ltd (with Endeavour Roofing Contractors Ltd), Alexandra Gardens Care Home
  • Solar on Roofs – Bauder Ltd (with Hodgson Sayers), Byker Wall, Newcastle Upon Tyne
  • Green Roofs – Prater Ltd (with Radmat Building Products Ltd), Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust, Liverpool
  • Mastic Asphalt and Hot-Melt Roofing – IKO PLC (with Knight Asphalt), Westminster Cathedral, London
  • Reinforced Bitumen Membranes – Bauder Ltd (with Mitie Tilley Roofing Ltd), ROM Ltd, Sheffield
  • Liquid Roofing and Waterproofing – Centaur Technologies Ltd (with Western Flat Roofing Company), South Cloisters Kitchen Roof, Exeter University
  • Single Ply Roofing – Sika Sarnafil (with Contour Roofing), Ewart Grove, Wood Green
  • Single-lap Tiling and Slating – Wienerberger (with Timby Traditional Roofing), Burgess, Wellingore
  • Double-lap Slating – Timby Traditional Roofing, Tait Gazebo, Gainsborough
  • Double-lap Tiling – Karl Terry Roofing Contractors Ltd, Shipley Farm, North Elham
  • Heritage Roofing – Karl Terry Roofing Contractors Ltd, The Cloth Hall, Smarden

The UK Roofing Awards also reward the individuals and organisations that go above and beyond the call of duty.

NFRC Health & Safety Champion 2015 went to Ben Orton of Weatherproofing Advisors.

The award for Exceptional Contribution to Training¸ in partnership with CITB, went to Geoffrey Parkinson, Regional Manager for NFRC Northern Ireland.

The companies that scored highest within their roofing discipline in the NFRC Safety in Roofing Awards for 2015 were, in slating and tiling; Wensley Roofing Ltd, for flat roofing; Stormforce Roofing & Maintenance Ltd and for industrial roofing and cladding; Industrial Construction (Sussex) Limited.

The Lead Sheet Association’s Young Lead Worker of the Year award went to Tim Fuge, a self-employed leadworker from Cornwall.

The Lead Contractors Association presented the Murdoch Award and Murdoch Sponsor’s Award for best leadwork. The former was won by Lead-Tech Roofing for Rygar House in London. The Sponsor’s Award went to Leadwise Contracts for Stormont Castle in Belfast.

The Roofing Awards bring everyone within the industry together. Along with NFRC, the awards hosts were the Roof Tile Association (RTA), the Liquid Roofing and Waterproofing Association (LRWA), the Lead Contractors Association (LCA), the Lead Sheet Association (LSA), the Federation of Traditional Metal Roofing Contractors (FTMRC), Single Ply Roofing Association (SPRA), the Metal Cladding and Roofing Manufacturers Association (MCRMA), CompetentRoofer, and the Green Roof Centre.

Key partners were B&CE Benefit Schemes and The People’s Pension, CITB, Electrical Contractors Insurance Company (ECIC) and Quality Assured National Warranties (QANW).

Of course the Awards would not take place without the continued support by the sponsors, in particular SIG Roofing who also assists in the continued development of the event.

To all our sponsors we thank them for their continued contributions, this year they were: Associated Lead Mills Ltd, Axter Limited, Bauder Ltd, Carlisle Construction Materials Europe, Chandlers Roofing Supplies Ltd, Cromar Building Products Ltd, Cupa Pizarras S.A, Easy-Trim Roofing and Construction Products Ltd, Eco Green Roofs Ltd, ICB (International Construction Bureau) Ltd, Icopal Ltd, IKO plc, John Brash & Co. Limited, Klober Ltd, M&J Group Ltd, Manthorpe Building Products Ltd, Marley Eternit Ltd, Radmat Building Products Ltd, RAM Consultancy Limited, Recticel Insulation, Monier Redland Limited, Renolit Cramlington Ltd, Rockwool, Sika Limited, SOPREMA UK and Triflex (UK) Limited.

You can view this year’s winners and finalists projects at