From Ambition to Zero: The Futurebuild conference is back

We’re excited to announce that the full Conference Programme at Futurebuild 2022 is now live!

The world-class programme has been curated by industry-led think tank, The Edge and includes a stellar line-up of speakers who are distinguished experts in their field to deliver the best possible, evidence-based understanding of what the industry needs to do in response of the challenges and targets set.

Register by Friday 21st January to reserve your free, three-day conference pass. Register for free today!

01 March: Ambition Beyond COP26

10:30-11:30 Beyond COP26: our action programme

Chair: Shaun Spiers, Executive Director, Green Alliance

Hannah Vickers, Co2nstructZero, Construction Leadership Council and Chief of Staff, Mace Group
Rachel Skinner, CBE, Past-President, Institution of Civil Engineers and Executive Director, WSP
Simon Foxell, Construction Industry Council Climate Change Panel, The Architects Practice and the Edge
Sunand Prasad, Chair, UK Green Building Council, Co-founder Penoyre Prasad Architects and Past-President, Royal Institute of British Architects

12:00-13:00 In a world where embodied carbon is regulated, what has changed?

Chair: Rt. Hon. Philip Dunne, MP, Chair of the Environmental Audit Committee

Will Arnold, Part Z author and Head of Climate Action, Institution of Structural Engineers
Louisa Bowles, Partner and Head of Sustainability, Hawkins\Brown
Paul King, Managing Director Sustainability and Social Impact, Lendlease Europe
Leigh Johnson, Head of Design and Masterplanning, Homes England

13:30-14:30 Resource efficiency in a circular, post-Brexit economy. What is the plan?

Chair: Professor David Greenfield, Managing Director, Soenecs and RAEng Visiting Professor of Circular Economy, University of Brighton

Kate Young, Senior Public Affairs Officer, Aldersgate Group
Dr Cyrille Dunant, Senior Research Associate in Material Efficiency in Construction, Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge and member of the Use Less Group
Siraj Tahir, Senior Engineer, Circular Water Economy Lead, Arup
Judith Sykes, Director, Expedition Engineering

15:00-16:00 Investing in people – education, skills and diversity

Chair: Robin Nicholson, CBE, Fellow Cullinan Studio and Convenor of the Edge

Sarah Mukherjee, MBE, Chief Executive, IEMA
Emma Crichton, Head of Engineering, Engineers Without Borders
Keith Clarke, CBE, Chair of Constructionarium
Sandi Rhys Jones, OBE, Vice President, CIOB

16:30-17:30 When ‘What if’ becomes ‘What next’

Welcome and Introduction: Keith Waller, Programme Director, Construction Innovation Hub

David Philp, Impact Director at the Construction Innovation Hub and Director of Digital Consulting, Strategy & Innovation, AECOM
Gill Kelleher, Impact Director, Construction Innovation Hub
Trudi Sully, Impact Director, Construction Innovation Hub

02 March: Leading Transformative Change

10:30-11:30 Making the shift to a resilient, zero carbon financial future

Chair: Nick Molho, Chief Executive Officer, Aldersgate Group

Andrew Simms, Coordinator of the Rapid Transition Alliance, an author, co-director of the New Weather Institute and Assistant Director of Scientists for Global Responsibility, a Research Associate at the University of Sussex
Tony Greenham, Executive Director at South West Mutual, former Director of Economics at the Royal Society of Arts and Founding member of the Financing A Just Transition Alliance
Sarah Ratcliffe, Chief Executive, Better Buildings Partnership
Dr Kristen MacAskill, Assistant Professor in Engineering, Environment and Sustainable Development at the Department, University of Cambridge and collaborator with the Resilience Shift
Cllr Katie Thornborrow, Cambridge City Council

12:00-13:00 Creating infection resilient environments

Chair: Professor Peter Guthrie, OBE FREng, Commission Chair

Professor Catherine Noakes, OBE FIMechE, FIHEEM, University of Leeds
Dr Shaun Fitzgerald, OBE, FRENG, University of Cambridge
Dr Hywel Davies, Technical Director, Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers

13:30-14:30 What should ‘levelling up’ really mean?

Chair: Miatta Fahnbulleh, Chief Executive, new economics foundation

Dr Fran Darlington-Pollock, Chair, The Equality Trust and an NGO Research Advisor
Sarah Longlands, Chief Executive, Centre for Local Economic Strategies
John Wrathmell, Director, Strategy, Research & Economy, Greater Manchester Combined Authority
Richard Blyth, Head of Polity Practice and Research, Royal Town Planning Institute

15:00-16:00 Raising aspirations – leading by example

Chair: Bea Natzler, Senior Analyst Business and Buildings, Climate Change Committee

Jennifer Elias, Principal Building Performance Engineer, Building Engineering, AECOM and member of LETI
Sara Edmonds, Director at Studio seARCH, Coordinator, Architects Climate Action Network
Amos Simbo, Managing Director, Black Professionals in Construction Network (BPICN) and member, CIC 2050 Group and Managing Director, Winway Services
Penny Gowler, Director and Head of Sustainability, Elliott Wood
Dr Mike Cook, Chair, IStructE’s Climate Emergency Task Group
Luke Engleback, Studio Engleback
Sue Riddlestone, OBE, Chief Executive, Bioregional

16:30-17:15 Big Innovation Pitch

This session will see six shortlisted innovators battle it out in a ‘Dragon’s Den’ style pitch, to become winner of the Big Innovation Pitch 2022.

Chair: Dr Oliver Jones, Research Director, Ryder Architecture

03 March: Towards a Healthier, Happier, Place for all in a Zero-Carbon World

10:15-11:15 Supply, demand and retrofit– how we overcame all three

Chair: Gillian Charlesworth, Chief Executive, Building Research Establishment

Tadj Oreszczyn, Professor of Energy and Environment at the UCL Energy Institute
Jannik Giesekam, Chancellor’s Fellow, University of Strathclyde
Lynne Sullivan, OBE, Member of the Green Construction Board and Chair of the Good Homes Alliance
Gillian Cooper, Head of Energy Policy, Citizens Advice

11:45-12:45 What if we got people protection right?

Chair: Nathan Baker, Chief Executive, IOM

Rebecca Canham, Human Factors Principal Scientist, IOM
Nichola Elvy, SOM and Building Health
Fiona King, Head of Occupational Health & Wellbeing, HS2 Ltd
Kevin Bampton, Chief Executive, BOHS

13:15-14:15 Living in a sustainable relationship with nature

Chair: Richard Benwell, Chief Executive Wildlife and Countryside Link

Kathryn Brown, OBE, Director of Climate Action, The Wildlife Trusts
Matt Shardlow, Chief Executive Buglife
Mary Colwell, writer, conservationist and contributor to the Dasgupta Review
Dr Ruth Waters, Director of Evidence, Natural England, lead scientist on the Dasgupta Review and co-author of Nature Positive 2030

14:45-15:45 The future of building design

Chair: Hattie Hartman, Sustainability Editor, Architects Journal

Peter Clegg, Senior Partner, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Hanif Kara, OBE, Co-founder and Design Director, AKT II and Professor in Practice of Architectural Technology – Harvard GSD

Find out more about the sessions and speakers!

Make the change from Ambition to Zero

The Futurebuild Conference is sponsored by the Construction Innovation Hub, who will also deliver sponsor welcome sessions.

Around the Conference Arena, visitors will find a Climate Action Wall with roadmaps and guidance in response to the climate and ecological emergency. The Climate Action Wall will provide downloadable information from Action Partners such as Bioregional, The Edge, RIBA, ICE, LETI, Landscape Institute, ACAN, CIBSE, Active Building Centre and Zero Construct.

Join us on the arena to explore some of the key questions and issues around closing the gap between ambition and delivery.

We can’t wait to safely welcome you back to Futurebuild!